Costa Rica Vacation Testimonials

We would love to hear from you

√ Share your memories with us
3000 characters left

Do you want to know what it's like to travel with Rutas Costa Rica?

Our travelers tell it better than anyone!

Review about Rutas Costa Rica

Rosana Vicente

Spain, August 2018

Tell us what you liked most about your trip to Costa Rica
Tortuguero is a unique place, we enjoyed the boat trip there a lot. Walking through the canals at night quite an experience and seeing the turtles on the beach very impressive at least for me. Although our hotel had no luxury, but it was comfortable and away from the village, the staff behaved fantastic. We took a kayak ride on the small canal that reached the hotel and were so lucky to see so many animals.
I also liked Monteverde and the cloud forest with the bridges (although the Selvatura guide was not good at all). And what less?
The return trip from Manuel Antonio to San Jose became very heavy, it took six hours and we arrived late at the hotel Tiquicia Lodge, which we couldn't enjoy anything despite the beautiful environment where it was. I don't know if it's possible to travel by plane but it would be worth it.
If when arriving from Spain to San Jose or before returning to Spain is only one night in the capital I think it would be better to be in an accommodation near the airport, if there are any.
The tour we did in the forest of Santa Elena was very interesting but a little repetitive because the day before we had gone to Selvatura and was very similar.
As I told you in Puerto Viejo, the walk on the beach from Ariel's house to the boat was a bit heavy, we were going very fast and we sank in the sand (it's silly but that's how I perceived it).
What would you rate as the best accommodation on this route?
I couldn't tell you because everyone had something special. At the Arenal Observatory Lodge we had an impressive house (Phil Villa) but we arrived one night and left early in the morning, it was cloudy and we didn't see the volcano. The Lodge must have had some nice places to see but we didn't take advantage of it.
Considering the room, the restoration, the services and the surroundings of the hotel I would say that the Banana Blue of Puerto Viejo (Red Frog room). But in general as I say all with their charm, the cabins of Monteverde, the Karahé (is very good although breakfasts were not very good, even the fruit was average) ... The Jade of San Jose seemed a bit old but we only spent a few hours sleeping.
It made us a little uncomfortable that in three of the hotels there were not two beds for the boys and they had to sleep in extra beds or in different rooms.
Did your travel expectations come true? Absolutely!
WE THANK YOU FOR ANY SUGGESTIONS or CRITICS YOU MAY MAKE ABOUT THE ORGANIZATION OF RUTAS COSTA RICA.
I don't have any critics, just the little things I've already said. I can only mention good things about you and the way you organize your trips, both in Vietnam and Costa Rica made us enjoy a lot. Besides, any small incident that may happen is solved immediately and that gives a lot of peace of mind when traveling.
In general the guides and people who collaborate with you are very compliant, they are very prepared, they are very nice and they are always available for anything you need. The last day in Manuel Antonio we had to do the City Tour and see a sunset but it rained so much that we couldn't see almost anything. Efrain made an effort to do something special and when it got dark he went to look for his night equipment and made us a very nice mini night tour. Victor, Randal, Marvin... all very good. Mauricio was great with us too.

Review about Rutas Costa Rica

Javier and Juana

Spain, August 2018

Tell us what you liked most about your trip to Costa Rica
The Tortuguero area with wild charm.
What less?
Rincón de la Vieja, maybe.
What would you rate as the best accommodation on this route?
Arenal Lodge Observatory. Also the hotel of RIO CELESTE.
Did your travel expectations come true?
Yes, of course.
WE THANK YOU FOR ANY SUGGESTION or CRITICAL YOU CAN DO ABOUT THE ORGANIZATION OF RUTAS COSTA RICA.
I know that it is difficult to adjust the times in each place, but I think that you could improve it as much as possible. I mean, at some stage of the itinerary, you arrive early at the hotel 11-12.00h and the programmed activity is scheduled the next day, it gives you the feeling that it is too much time without doing anything, but I insist, it is a personal opinion. I suppose that each person would have a different rhythm for the same trip.
We are very grateful for the continuous service because you always have the confidence that someone will take care of solving any problem that appears.

 

Review about Rutas Costa Rica

Enric and Sandra

Barcelona, August 2018

In the Arenal and Monteverde everything went great, we would only recommend you to warn in the program that most of the roads are not paved and that some stretches of road are a little uncomfortable.
The chosen hotels were very good and the bath in the Tabacón hot springs was a delight, an unforgettable experience. The visit to the gold mines of the Juntas de Abangares was a very interesting experience, but it is necessary to warn the tourists that they take socks and trousers of change because during the visit to the mines you can find mud and although you provide boots, you have the risk of getting dirty. It is worth going into the mine because it is something unusual. We have already told Marvin's family that it would be good if they had a map of the area in the cabin to guide where we are and how all the tunnels are distributed in the mountains. (They do a very complete explanation but without the support of a map it is difficult to find your way).
With respect to the food, being a little special perhaps to propose that instead of putting fried pork crust for all perhaps some would appreciate the choice of chicken instead of pork!
The guide Victor, very good (very chatty but with much knowledge of the area) and the family of Marvin very friendly and nice.
The food we ate in Santa Elena at El Ranchito de Juanita was very authentic and special (we ate marvelously). The hotel los Pinos was good although perhaps with some old-fashioned furniture and uncomfortable beds. We recommend that you propose to other travelers the "Sabor Tico" (tica and international food (pastas, pizza, tex-mex) very good and at a very good price. It is located in a shopping center about 10 minutes walk from Los Pinos in the direction of Santa Elena downtown.
Casa Conde in Playa Hermosa was very good and we relaxed a lot. The hotel is ideal for a few days of rest (the only objection is that the beach is not very nice to be located within a bay and be black sand).
The flight from Liberia was not direct. If we knew before we would have changed for another direct. My daughter didn't have a very good time with the landing and takeoff of the intermediate point. We saw it was an intermediate stop flight the day before we caught it when we checked the documentation with the schedules.
In Cahuita, everything and the discomfort of the girls's room (especially the first night) the rest very well and the hotel is a "charm". Ariel is a very good guide (attentive, expert of the zone, etc.) but the day of the visit to El Parque de Cahuita surprised us that it didnt take some binoculars to see the animals and did not mention us to take some (he advised us on sun cream, repellent, glasses, cap...). We told him about the binoculars and he told us that they had gotten wet the day before. Visits with him very well and is a highly recommended guide. We have been very comfortable with him as well as with Gregorio, our driver. In Puerto Viejo we ate very well at the Tamara restaurant (an excellent choice). The snorkeling activity was also very good, lucky that the boat had an awning because otherwise we would have " burned ".
On the last day the trip from Cahuita to Moin with Randal was also great and enjoyable.
The visit to the Bri Bri chocolate workshop was very authentic (you can see that everything is prepared for tourists, the way they have it organized is very didactic and sure that everyone loves it, we have learned and enjoyed a lot).
Nevertheless the visit to the "Chaman" I must confess to you that it has been a touristic thing that I would not repeat again. I don't doubt that everything she has explained to us is true, but as the visit is organized and the ritual is only a touristic thing.
The transfer by boat to Tortuguero was good and we arrived at just 13h30 for lunch. However, please note that different boats leave from Moin and ours was one of the slowest. During the trip we were overtaken by 4 boats with travelers like us ( towards Tortuguero). Surely with them we would have arrived earlier to the hotel and avoid the "suffering" of the transfer with the doubt of whether we arrived or not for lunch. We know that the Manatus option was "imposed" by us.
On the other hand, the hotel is very good, the staff is very friendly and helpful, at all times they speak to you by name and the food is excellent. The services of the hotel are "premium" and make you feel very comfortable. The transfer organized by them to San Jose is also very good and very professional. If you ever have to propose Manatus you can do it without any doubt.
With respect to the San Jose hotel, the Hampton is much better than the Holiday Inn because the last one is very close to the road and the sound of cars would be much louder.
Once again we must tell them that we have enjoyed this trip and the attention they have had with us. We are very satisfied with the services and the way you have organized the visits, guides and drivers who have accompanied us throughout these travel 15 days. We must mention 4 of them as the best, Josue, Victor, Ariel and Randall.
Thank you for everything and we hope to share another adventure with you again.
Take care!
PS: We forgot to tell you how nice and professional Maria is. She has been watching over us and our displacements since Izaskun left.
Maria has given us a lot of serenity, she is such a lovely girl!
Well, in short it was a "Super" trip.

 

Review about Rutas Costa Rica

Raul and Merce

Barcelona, June 2018

My boyfriend and I have recently made a trip to Costa Rica and Nicaragua and we have to say that it has been a truly INCREDIBLE trip in which we have lived unique moments that we didn't expect at all and Rutas Costa Rica has surprised us at every moment. When I read the positive comments received by the agency, the only thing I can do is to confirm it, because they are really excellent!
Besides the quality of the visits, the organization was incredibly perfect, from the pick up at the airports to the synchronization of the visits. The guides showed a lot of professionalism and we appreciate very much being able to share with them their personal experiences within their culture.
In short, it was a success, really unforgettable! and all thanks to Rutas. Without them, we wouldn't have seen half of the things we have seen in those 12 days. We strongly recommend them!

 

Trip Memories

The best pics of our travelers

Trekking in the jugle

Trekking in the jugle

Rosana Vicente family
August 2018
Surfing in Manuel Antonio

Surfing in Manuel Antonio

Rosana Vicente family
August 2018
Gandoca Beach

Gandoca Beach

Rosana Vicente family
August 2018
Celeste River

Celeste River

Carles Cusel
August 2018
Bungalow in Celeste River

Bungalow in Celeste River

Javier del Río family
August 2018
Hotel at Brasilito beach

Hotel at Brasilito beach

Javier del Río family
August 2018
Goldmine in Abangares

Abangares Goldmine

Rosana Vicente family
August 2018
Waterfalls

Waterfall

Rosana Vicente family
August 2018
Arenal Volcano

Arenal Volcano

Ibon & June
August 2018
Flight to Tortuguero

Flight to Tortuguero

Rosana Vicente family
August 2018
La Fortuna Bridge

Bridge in La Fortuna

Ibon & June
August 2018
Relax in Hot springs

Relax in Hot springs

Rosana Vicente family
August 2018
La Fortuna waterfall

La Fortuna waterfall

Javier del Río family
August 2018
Tortuguero National Park

El Tortuguero National Park

Javier del Río family
August 2018